South Africa

South Africa- Andrew Rice

When I got off the airplane and stepped onto the bus that was going to take us to our new home for the next three weeks I was in bewilderment of the scenery that was put before me. Nothing that I have ever seen in my life looked so nice. Driving on the left side of the road was one of the many things that I grew accustomed too over my three weeks abroad. The next day we woke up and got introduced to all the people that will be helping us over the course and I have never been more welcomed to a foreign area. I had no clue what to think about this country that I had just got too, but I was soon to find out just how amazing South Africa is.

Our very first week in South Africa was a week of non-stop tourism and being able to see the beautiful country. One of the very first things we did, to get to know each other, was to go to a braai (picnic) at Ivy’s, who is one of Jan’s good friends. When we were at Ivy’s was when I first got my cultural shock in South Africa. We had a traditional meal of cooked beef and lamb, spinach, corn, and white flour dish. We ate all this in a little bowl with our hands and drank luke-warm water but I wouldn’t change that for anything because I would never have had that if I didn’t go over to South Africa. After we got done eating we blocked off a road and had a small dance circle. We showed them how we danced, and they showed us how they danced and it was quite amazing to see all the different cultures. After we got done dancing for two hours we got back on the bus and went back to our house.

I loved every part of this trip so much and wish every single person got the chance that I got to see one of the most amazing places that I have ever been to. The best part about the trip is how it affected my life. All the way from the small stuff like how much I missed iced drinks and how they aren’t a thing over in South Africa because it is so expensive to make ice, or even how I noticed how big carpooling is over in South Africa because they can’t afford a car and really want to save on carbon emissions. This shows me that we need to do more of this over in the States just so that we can be more like South Africa. I know from going on this trip, I will always keep apart of South Africa with me so that then I can give the story of the people over in South Africa that I experienced. From getting accustomed to the people of South Africa, I learned that you need to value more of the important people in your life and the basic needs in your life that you must have instead of valuing the wants you have in your life. South Africa is a place where you can find yourself while seeing the world and I can’t wait to go back to this beautiful city.

-Andrew Rice

#ACESStudyAbroad

Standard

Leave a Reply

